Life After University

Well that’s it, it’s officially over. My 3 years at the University of Lincoln is complete, I lost my student status 31 days ago (not that I am counting).  I cannot believe how fast it all went by; though I thought I could say that I experienced substantial stress throughout those 3 years, when I thought the stress was about to finish I realised that it hasn’t even started!

In all honesty I am yet to figure out whether I’m either excited or terrified to enter the ‘real world’, I often find myself asking whether or not I’m ready to ‘adult’ yet. Sometimes there’s a feeling of dread, at the reality of University being over, now this petrifies me. But those other days I feel so excited about the new experiences I am about to embark on; starting a career in an area which I feel so passionate about (fingers crossed) and beginning a new chapter of my life in a different town, or should I say county, over 100 miles away from my home town.

Yes, I am a northerner venturing south. From my hometown of sunny Goole (okay it’s not sunny) where both my family and friends reside, I am packing up and moving down south to the home of ‘SHAT UP’ and ‘DROP ME OUT’, Essex. There are several emotions in which I could say I am feeling right now, but they can all be summed up by: Nervous. Don’t get me wrong I am so excited about all the new doors which can open for me but it is also very nerve racking to essentially start again. (This is why I am starting this blog initially, I’ve been hearing that writing is good for the soul and writing experiences, and adventures can have positive effects on your mental health, so why not ey?).

Recently, I’ve been reading  numerous articles and blogs which provide advice for preparing us for ‘Life after University’ such as:  living back at home, opening graduate bank accounts and getting that ‘ideal Graduate job’ but what they don’t cover is the fact that you are parting ways from the people who have practically been your family for 3 years, having formed incredible bonds with people you have lived with: partied with, laughed with and confided in, supporting each other through both universities difficulties and academic pressure (in my case have helped me through about 10 Britney meltdowns and talked me out of quitting University all together around 5 times). Maybe it is a cliché thing to say that the friends you form at University are friends for life and I certainly feel like I have definitely made friends for life. This is what I feel is the real sadness of University life.

Nonetheless, it’s 85 days until Graduation, a time to celebrate all our achievements throughout the 3 years and we get to share it with both our families and friends. I have no doubt in my mind that saying ‘goodbye’ will not be easy but then there’s always the excitement of what lies ahead helps balance it a little (and I mean a smidge).

 

 

Leave a Reply

